2012 Rakshabandhan Celebrations at Prayaas

August 5, 2012 § Leave a comment

Image

I hated him because he spills milk whenever he drinks, he never keeps his shoes clean, imagine the state of his uniform and clothes!! I hate him because he never listens to me and eats the entire brick of ice- cream by hook or by crook. I hate him for all the reasons sisters hate their brothers. But on the eve of Rakhi, I missed him. Far away from my little brother, I could do nothing but pray and hope for his well- being, for his success and his happiness. We all know that no matter how much we get irritated by our brothers and sisters, we always look upto each other as the best pals. We look upto the pious festival of Rakshabandhan which makes this bond stronger.

Like me, everyone thought that they will be bereaved of this happy occasion as we all are away from family. But Prayaas kids never give you a reason to frown. Thanks to them, we celebrated the festival of Rakshabandhan. It started with much fervor as the teachers first taught them about the festival. Then the girls tied Rakhis to the boys and put vermillion on their foreheads. The kids were followed by facchas and tucchas, exchange students and pgpx. Girls did not leave anyone’s wrist bare. All along there was laughter, happiness and gifts presented by brothers to sisters. I was standing right there enjoying the festivity when somebody tied Rakhi on my wrist; it was Raveena, the youngest one at Prayaas. It made me happy all the more. It’s amazing how kids bind you to happiness and give you those beautiful feelings. That moment was special to me and I am sure, it would be for everyone who was there that evening. At last sweets were distributed followed by group photograph. Among all the chirpings and incessant laughter, we were finally able to get few good clicks and smiles on everyone’s face.

Next morning I called my brother and told him how special he is to me. Perhaps, festivals are the sweetest occasions which bring families, friend and relatives together. No matter how far I was away from home, my evening with Prayaas made that feeling more strong.

– Vishala Rao

PS – Here are the pictures for 2012 Rakshabandhan Celebrations

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 2012 Rakshabandhan Celebrations at Prayaas at Prayaas.

meta

